Black Currant Oil, A hair & skin problem solver?

I was browsing through the natural hair blogs & websites last night for a long time. I decided on one thing that I’m not going to do. That’s be a serial product tester,demonstrator & commentator. Granted, I’ve used my share of products & I have lots to say about them … soon soon… but some folks just do it better. There are a myriad of YouTube videos that I will continue to post my favorites on the FaceBook page. But I’m just not wasting my money, esp on products when I KNOW won’t work.

Idk if it’s because I’m getting older, but I have a slight OCD with my skin, hair & body shape. The only way to remedy this without the occasional shot of Botox is to examine what’s going on internally. One of my recent finds is Back Currant Oil. I found information on Dr. Weil’s site.

Black Currant Oil is is oil pressed from black currant seeds. It is available as gel caps (hate hard pills anyway). Look for ones containing at least 45 mg of GLA (gamma-linolenic acid). GLA is an essential fatty acid & according to Dr. Weil it may help lessen a variety of symptoms:
* Autoimmune disorders (including lupus, eczema, and psoriasis)
* Hair problems including dryness, brittleness, thinning, or splitting
* Nail problems such as weak or brittle nails
* Premenstrual syndrome
* Inflammatory disorders

The oil should be taken internally & topical forms should be avoided. Because I’m not suffering from any of these symptoms, I’m not going to add this to my supplement regimen. Esp. b/c I just started taking Natural Green powder (1 scoop) in the morning to get part of my fruit & vegetable daily servings in.

However, adding Black Currant Oil may help people who aren’t getting the desired results from a diet change & supplements. Dr. Weil on

About MaddyMonty


Leave a Reply

