So much to talk about

There have been so many thoughts running through my head & they always come to me while I’m traveling on the train. I think I’ll really have to trade in my Bberry touch for one with a key pad, so I can start my mobile blogging.

Well let’s start this one off with “Let’s Talk About Pep” Episode 8, the season finale. First, I have to say that I used to watch this whevenver it came on but have forgotten about it lately. I actually tuned in to watch full episodes of “Basketball Wives” after watching it last night & reading the article, “She’s Got Next!” about Shaunie O’Neal (Shaq’s ex-wife) in Essence Magazine–oh and reading Jill Scott’s article, “I’m Just Saying.” This is the issue with Zoe Saldana on the cover… It’s also the magazine with the Gemini horoscope that says “Stop the back-and-forth in your relationship and find out what’s really going on.” Oh, it also said to, “get over the ‘get rich quick’ schemes.”

Let me also say that (this could be another post entirely) that in Episode 7 of Let’s Talk About Pep… Jacque Reid checks out her new friend’s Facebook page & discovers some things that she dislikes, particularly making reference to his comment “freak-a-leek” and also about the women who seem to be constantly coming on to him. I’ve done the online dating & truth be told when you find things like that on Facebook (which will bring me back to Basketball Wives) it’s not to be ignored.

Anyway, I almost forgot what this post was about *scrolls up* Oh yes! Pep! After reading “I’m Just Sayin” on the train this morning, I mean.. I’m kind of over the big issues with interracial dating. Jill refers to the sting of seeing a black man with a white woman as “betrayal.” I don’t feel betrayed anymore. I believe watching couples like Pep & Tom enjoy a true (we will see, but it does look mushy and genuine) romance, I’m thinking to myself “why do we as black women continue to feel betrayed, burned, upset etc? Why do black women continue to think that all they have is  what’s presented in front of them, especially when we have the entire world out there??

My philo is that if you expand your options, you are not  concerned about restrictions… you feel free & happy. Why? Because you have all of your options & you are truly open to love, no matter what shape, size or color it presents itself with. Truth be told if Pep had not (IMO) explored her other options, she would not have met Tom. A man, who seriously… cooks, is intelligent, responsive, caring, sweet. Maybe she would have tried to pursue the man @ the Gansevoort who just wanted to sleep with her… umm descriptively telling her where his room was–or it could have been the one from the club, with the crazy body–who we know would have ultimately just turned into one lusty make out repeat session– even that gets tired, no matter how great the body and the kiss.

I think in the final episode, everyone (except Jacque) admitted to having to step up their standards– not only for themselves but for their partner or love interest. It’s not OK to not set standards for yourself & others. You should always set a standard for how you want to be treated, how you want to be courted, loved, etc. I just loved seeing the women set great standards, define what they want and demand it.

Joumana admitted that bad boys are “safe.” Why? They’re safe because we don’t expect anything from them, we don’t have to open our hearts to the possibility or worse, heart break. Truth is that, as I approach 30 *gasp* well next year– I have really started to open my heart to love & possibilities that are out of my comfort zone. It’s exciting, worth the wait & I hope black women will do so to find love, be happy and stop feeling the sting of “betrayal.”

About MaddyMonty


Leave a Reply

